Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Florida

Tampa, FL; Landlord/Tenant Question: I'm leasing a single family home since Oct 2019. The property manager (brother to the owner) does all repairs most of which have been plumbing related. Recent repairs are not done to code and I don't believe he is a Licensed Plumber. Recent episode was a leak in an outdoor pipe that he had done before I started renting the property. The average water bill before the incident has been below $70. The last two water bills I've received were $239.00 and $491.00 respectively.

1) Since this plumbing is part of the house, is the owner responsible to pay the water charges above my average usage?

2) If they do not pay, or since they will not hire professional service technicians, is that grounds for me to terminate the lease early without penalty?

Thank you, James Love

Asked on 6/12/20, 5:22 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Barry Stein De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary

Your lease agreement controls. Seek legal advice with all documentation. You are not likely to cancel the lease for these problems but reimbursement should be possible.

Read more
Answered on 6/12/20, 5:25 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Florida