Legal Question in Legal Malpractice in Florida

I have a long-running case in Florida. After a few years I fired my attorneys for misconduct and breach of fiduciary duty, etc. Due to complicated circumstances, they are still enjoined in the case. The rest of the details aren't important for my question.

I have filed a bar complaint against the attorney, and it is currently being researched.

In a hearing this week, the judge saw an opportunity to end the case once and for all. During his ruling, he said that he felt the attorney is excellent and shouldn't have to suffer through a bar complaint against him - and that I was taking it too far. Basically painting the attorney as the victim (despite billing me over $100k for an $8,600 case, among other things).

So he ruled that he would give me a favorable judgment ONLY if I dropped the bar complaint. If not, then the ruling would be very much against me.

Is this even legal?

Asked on 11/02/17, 12:49 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Barry Stein De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary

The order says this? it would be highly improper. I suggest you have the order reviewed by an attorney.

Read more
Answered on 11/02/17, 12:51 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Malpractice Law questions and answers in Florida