Legal Question in Medical Malpractice in Florida

I run a nonprofit which helps people who have been harmed by their medical treatment (but we don't deal with any legal matters). We deal with people from across the country. We're considering allowing people we help to write on our website about the harm they suffered and the medical facility and doctor(s) involved, but we would like to know if we or they could incur any risk in doing this (such as the potential for a defamation lawsuit).

Asked on 8/15/16, 1:36 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Barry Stein De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary

yes you have a potential problem. unless the information provided and published is 100% accurate and factual you could be subject to a defamation action. republishing an invalid statement is defamation.

Read more
Answered on 8/15/16, 2:04 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Medical Malpractice Law questions and answers in Florida