Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Florida

My 18 year old daughter is entering into her freshman year in college. She was looking to roommate with another student and rent a room from her. She went down to the leasing office and while she was there she signed an addendum to lease as a coleasee and myself as the guarantor which I signed docs as well but not the addendum via docusign effective dates indicating 8/15/17-7/30/18 typed in next to her name is an effective date for 8/3/18 with no rental amount and no ending date. Unless the lease was renewed. I only received a copy of the addendum to lease signed by daughter. She was unaware what she was signing. We both thought that we provided out information solely for a background check and to get an approval from leasing company and then let us know we were approved and then further paperwork would be signed which that wasn't the case here. Nothing else was further discussed. Only paid an application fee. Can you please advise? Thanks

Asked on 7/20/18, 8:22 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Barry Stein De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary

More info is needed. You need to request in writing whatever documents you signed. Was she already approved and you now have a lease? Dont sign stuff unless you know exactly what it is you are signing.

Read more
Answered on 7/22/18, 5:41 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Florida