Legal Question in Traffic Law in Florida

I drive for Uber and was struck by another vehicle which ran a red light at an intersection. The side impact damage ultimately caused the insurance adjuster to declare my vehicle totaled. The driver who struck me had no auto insurance. I not only lost my vehicle but the ability to work for roughly 4 weeks (time it took to work through the insurance process and then purchase another vehicle). Insurance through Uber and GAP took care of the small amount I owned on my car, but my question relates to my lost wages. My understanding is Florida is a "No Fault" state. Since the other driver had no insurance, is there any ability to go after the individual for the 4 weeks of lost wages?? P.S. I was not injured in the accident. Thanks for your assistance with this question.

Asked on 1/08/19, 9:09 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Craig Epifanio Craig Epifanio, P.A.

You may be able to get part of your wages back through your own PIP policy. I would talk to your insurance company to find out.

Read more
Answered on 1/08/19, 2:21 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Florida