Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Florida

My father died in Florida. He deeded property to step-daughter. It has a mortgage and a home improvement loan. The rest of estate will go to me and sister, there is no will. Who is responsible for mortgage and home improvement loan, the deed holder or the estate? He received a settlement from a lawsuit against homeowners insurance, is that a part of estate or must go to fix the home?

Asked on 2/05/20, 9:42 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

From the limited facts you give, if the mortgage and loan stayed in his name, his estate would be responsible. So to, the insurance proceeds should go to his estate.

Read more
Answered on 2/05/20, 9:48 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Florida