Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Florida

In February of 2021, my life long friend passed away from Sepsis. After the initial shock of being told that he passed away from his oldest son, I come to find out that I was named as a second executor should his wife not be able to execute his will.

My major problem is that I live 3-1/2 hours away in South Florida Broward County, while his estate is in Orange County Florida. His oldest son from a first marriage lives in New Jersey 16-17 hours away from Florida while his daughter and other son from a second marriage live about 18 hours away in Texas. We are trying to arrange a way for myself and his two sons that are deeply involved with their father's will, to get his will processed using a probate attorney needed to help plan and carry out my friends will and distribution of his estate.

I need to find a honest and trustworthy probate attorney that will perform all the functions necessary to complete and finalize my friends last wishes. We are still in the process of locating the original will drawn up by my friend. Currently only a copy is available and I doubt that the Orange county courts will accept a copy of the will. Since I am now the executor after my friends wife passed away about 2 years ago, I have the monumental task of executing all that my friend requires in his will. Can a good and respected probate attorney in the Orange county Florida area help with my request.

Personal Note: Please do not take my comment about an honest and trustworthy attorney as an insult. I have met and known very good lawyers, while others just planned on when to get their next Porsche or Mercedes. Nothing personal, it's just business.

Thank you

Jose A. Tuero

Asked on 4/27/21, 11:34 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

I handle probate matters throughout Florida however, my office is in Palm Beach County.

Read more
Answered on 4/27/21, 12:14 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Florida