Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Florida

Hello! I and my husband do not have common children. He has an adult daughter (and granddaughter from his previous marriage), and I also have an adult daughter from my previous marriage. He owned an condo before we got married. His adult daughter has nothing to do with this condo since she was married and living with her husband in her own home. She did not pay even one cent for that condo. Her name never was in a deed. My husband will not mention her name as a beneficiary due to their relationship. Here is my question:

In case if I survive my husband, may my husband's daughter /granddaughter request me to sell the condo to share it with them or to pay them a half (or another part )of the condo's price while I am alive?

If case of our both deaths (mine and my husband), may my husband's daughter and granddaughter request my daughter as a beneficiary of that condo (we are going to create a trust for my daughter), to share it with them despite the trust says that my daughter is the only beneficiary? Thank you!

Asked on 6/16/21, 3:07 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

1. No. As his surviving spouse, you are entiitled to inherit.

2. Should you die together, where it is not determinable who died first, she would inherit as his serving daughter.

A will or new deed would help.

Read more
Answered on 6/16/21, 6:32 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Florida