Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Florida

Several years ago my Mother re-titled her house as a life-estate naming me as the person whom the property would transfer to upon her eventual departure. I live in the house with her the last two years of her life. When she ultimately left, the property appraiser's office re-assessed the house. However, on their website the record shows that that I have owned the house effective the date the Life-Estate was filed. Should the property appraiser have reassessed the house after my mother was no longer here, or was ownership conferred upon me by virtue of the life-estate deed and having lived in the house for a substantial period of time allowing ownership to continue without a reassessment and consequent increase in property tax? My Mother died 2 1/2 years ago. Thank you very much.


Asked on 5/28/19, 12:07 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner McLaughlin, P.A.

when the life estate was created, you had an ownership interest in the house. the property assessor can re-appraise the house at any time

Read more
Answered on 5/28/19, 12:23 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Florida