Legal Question in Entertainment Law in Georgia

I work at a local fast food chain as general manager. A competitor walks in the door with a mask on dressed up as a king. He proceeds to dance around the resturaunt giving out burgers from another fast food chain. I had a feeling that a customer could be sitting down eating at the establishment videoing our response. I managed to tell each staff member to not say anything to him nor make any big deal over this. I did call the police in the mean time due to the fact that he was handing out burgers that I had no control in knowing if it had met temperatures required and if it was safe for customers to eat, keeping in mind that we do have signs stating "No Soliciting" on each entrance. As soon as he walks out the door, I waited til he got in the car and I did ask why he was doing this. He proceeded to say that he was doing it for childrens charities. No money was recieved during this event. I did let him know that i was calling the police. He drove off immediately. This event happend in Rome, Ga. I did not know that he was audio recording me when I went to his car. The police did not do anything but write a report. I was right on it being re

cored by a guest sitting to eat in the lobby which also knew that this was about to occur. A few days later it went viral. It started on youtube and now has ended up on the Jay Leno late night show. On youtube, there is comments with extremely bad things being stated about me. I have flagged the video and it has yet to be removed. It actually was the most viewed video for a couple of days. It has already made over 400,000 views and it states the location of the fast food that I am employeed. Is this legal? Jay leno never mentions my name nor my employment. It has been very demotivating with all the mean things said about me. The guy does have myself on audio on youtube. It has hit all around the world and so much negative stuff about me. Just hoping to find some answers

Asked on 9/30/12, 1:07 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Riddle Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC

You have no expectation of privacy in a public area or parking lot.

Read more
Answered on 9/30/12, 2:16 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Entertainment & Sport Law questions and answers in Georgia