Legal Question in Family Law in Illinois

Legislative Exception

According to Illinois State Code, child support orders enacted before July 1, 1997 have a statute of limitations of 20 years. This means that that after 20 years, the child support orders enacted before the July date are unenforceable is this law in affect?

Asked on 1/28/16, 7:42 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jonathan Shimberg Shimberg and Crohn, P.C.

Your presumption is not correct. Each installment due is, by law, a separate judgment. If that judgment arose before the date you cite, it is only good for 20 years. Any judgment after that date has no ending date.

Read more
Answered on 1/28/16, 8:50 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Illinois