Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Indiana

Im curious, my ex wife is taking me to court over contempt of a divorce decree for not refinancing my home and getting her name off of the mortgage. In the divorce papers it states that she awarded me the house and is not responsible for anything to do with the house. my lawyer told me that I wont be found guilty because of all the proof I have collected over the years for trying to refinance and have been turned down every time, so my question is, if I had to go bankrupt/foreclose on my home, will she also have to go bankrupt and ruin her own credit? my lawyer doesnt have an answer to this because shes not a divorce/bankruptcy lawyer.

Asked on 12/10/15, 4:09 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Gregory Coleman Coleman Law Office

If you file bankruptcy and her name is still on the mortgage, it will in turn affect her as well.

Read more
Answered on 1/18/16, 2:24 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Indiana