Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Indiana

I went thru a divorce 5 yrs ago and gave my ex husband the house with a quit claim deed. He was to refinance the house and get it out of my name. He died and never refinanced it, now the mortgage company is trying to garnish my wages. The house was foreclosed on and sold in sheriff sale and I was never notified until 5 yrs later and now they say I am responsible for the remaining amount. Why am I responsible for this? it is not my fault he didn't refinance it.

Asked on 10/13/17, 9:31 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Wilk Rubino Ruman Crosmer & Polen

The mortgage company isn't bound by your divorce. You're on the hook.

Read more
Answered on 10/13/17, 12:50 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Indiana