Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Indiana

In Indiana, the State contracts a collection agency to collect back taxes, and they can place levies on bank accounts. Indiana: Bank Levy by Credit Collection Agency for State of IN back taxes. Ex-husband's bank account has been levied. He owes 2600; to get the release on the account, he must pay half of that, then the remaining amount over four payments. The only funding that goes into that account is his SSI/Disability. Four payments would be nearly 30% of that monthly income. We don't have a problem with paying what is owed, but need smaller payments-he needs a good portion to live on each month. Also, we were not contacted at all by this agency prior to the levy. Can they legally take that much of his SSI income each month? My question is since this is 100% SSI in the account, how much can they make us pay up front, and how much can they take monthly?

Asked on 11/10/19, 2:23 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Wilk Rubino Ruman Crosmer & Polen

You may have issues that are too numerous to talk about here. You need to direct these questions as soon as possible to a debtors attorney.

Read more
Answered on 11/10/19, 4:42 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Indiana