Legal Question in Criminal Law in Indiana

The police came to my apartment this weekend because of a noise complaint. We did not answer the door and he left after about 10 minutes. I looked at my door today and there are dents on my door from him knocking. Is he allowed to dent my door since I did not answer or can he get in trouble for this?

Asked on 1/31/11, 11:03 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jay Rigdon Rockhill Pinnick LLP

No, the police can not just damage your door intentionally or negligently. Perhaps answering the door might have been the wise thing to do to avoid the problem, however.

Read more
Answered on 2/09/11, 11:10 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Indiana