Legal Question in Family Law in Indiana

Hello, I'm having issues with a toxic great grandparent. The great grandparent has been allowed to keep my child overnight on many weekends since he was born last July, but the great grandparent has become increasingly possessive/controlling over my child and my family as a whole. My husband and I have come to the conclusion that no contact is best for our family due to the toxic nature of the relationship between the great grandparent and myself. This person is now threatening to take us to court for visitation rights. What are the laws in Indiana regarding great grandparents rights to visitation? Also, what are my rights as a parent to make the decision that I feel is best for my family?

Thank you for your time.

Asked on 3/11/20, 12:21 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jay Rigdon Rockhill Pinnick LLP

Your child, your decision. Great-grandparents do not have the rights of grandparents to seek visitation.

Read more
Answered on 3/11/20, 12:49 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Indiana