Legal Question in Family Law in Indiana

My wife and I are separated and going through a divorce. We have 50/50 custody, and in the Provisional Order (signed by myself, my ex, and the mediator... And ordered by the judge back in June) there are two individuals that our two boys (1 and 3) are not permitted to be around. One person - I'll call her Sue - is a convicted felon that spent 6 months in jail for "maintaining a common nuisance." I just found out today that my ex frequently leaves the two boys over at Sue's house overnight when she goes out with her friends - And I have a former friend of my ex that has agreed to testify to this fact.

She is violating the Provisional Order and there are 2 small children being exposed to a former felon... Is this a game-changer a far as custody rights are concerned?

Asked on 11/17/09, 9:53 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Burton Padove Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove

Possibly. You have not provided enough other facts for a more definitive opinion. It is definately a violation of the order and a citation for contempt should be issued.

Read more
Answered on 11/22/09, 9:58 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Indiana