Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Indiana

My sister-in-law is being taken to court by someone for a protective order. She has not been notified by the court at all, but her name has appeared in the paper. When she contacted the courthouse she was told the judge wanted to meet with the plaintiff, but that's all the information she got. She hasn't done anything to warrant this and is it legal for a judge to meet with just one person? Shouldn't the person be notified by the court before she sees her name in the paper?

Asked on 4/24/17, 12:10 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Wilk Rubino Ruman Crosmer & Polen

Your sister in law WAS notified by the newspaper announcement. That's all the notice which is required. Now, she really needs to go to a lawyer to represent her. This isn't a do-it-yourself project.

Read more
Answered on 4/25/17, 3:40 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Indiana