Legal Question in Insurance Law in Indiana

My ex husband passed away on 02/06/22. At the time of death he had 10,000.00 in a savings account. Before his death he told his brother (POA) he wanted his daughters to have that money. They are being told that since he was on Medicaid that money has to go to towards the hospital bill. Is that correct? Thank you

Asked on 5/27/22, 9:04 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Wilk Rubino Ruman Crosmer & Polen

That may be true. Medicaid has a lien against estate assets if it has paid monies on behalf of the decedent. So, it would be advisable to check first with Medicaid before disbursing any money.

Read more
Answered on 5/30/22, 11:21 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in Indiana