Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Indiana

My apartment caught on fire and the smoke alarms did not go off we lost everything we owned in a matter of four days living there. I lost my job since I worked from home and was displaced for a month. My question is can I sue for safety reasons since the alarm did not alert us of the fire? My daughter, boyfriend and I now suffer from anxiety and panic attacks from being awoken at 3 am by people banging on our windows and screaming. On top of that when I decided to move back in and sign my lease one of the leasing agents took a photo of me with out my knowledge or consent and placed it on HIS social media, not the companies his own personal social media. He sent it to a family member giving her confidential information about me.

Asked on 7/16/18, 2:49 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Wilk Rubino Ruman Crosmer & Polen

Whether you can sue your landlord may depend on your lease language----read that first. You would have to consult with an attorney to see if your case is worthwhile pursuing, both on liability or damages.

Read more
Answered on 7/16/18, 5:53 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Indiana