Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Indiana

I was in a lease through my Fraternitys housing and was let out for the spring semester due to financial reasons and I was then suspended from the Fraternity. The Fraternity housing is now trying to charge me $1400 for vacancy fees and says they are going to take me to collections. The lease agreement between the Fraternity Housing and Fraternity Chapter itself states, "If for any reason less than 40 chapter members are living in the chapter’s fraternity house, an empty bed fee shall be charged to all ACTIVE chapter members regardless of whether or not they reside in the chapter house." (22). As I said, I am suspended so I am NOT an active member. What should I do? Are there any legal obligations that would require me to pay? Even if it says something in the Master Lease, I was let out of my lease.

Asked on 4/16/19, 2:48 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Wilk Rubino Ruman Crosmer & Polen

It’s difficult to give you an accurate answer without seeing the actual documents to which you refer. Don’t depend on your viewpoint or interpretations. Take your papers to a lawyer and pay him for an opinion.

Read more
Answered on 4/17/19, 2:10 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Indiana