Legal Question in Medical Malpractice in Indiana

Spouse's right to info

My husband is a drug addict. I recently found out he's been seeing a doctor for several months for 'back pain' and has been getting prescriptions for Vicodin.

I have only been able to obtain a limited amount of information from the doctor's office.

What are my rights, or limitations thereof, in obtaining information regarding my husband's medical condition and treatment?

I am trying to find out how much was prescribed to him, how often, and the strength...if I can't get that info, a pharmacy number.

I need this information to assist me in making some decisions.



Asked on 1/07/02, 11:21 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mary J. Hoeller, R.N., J.D. Attorney At Law

Re: Spouse's right to info

I am unclear about the decisions you are going to make and do not understand the relevance of your husband's treatment/addiction to that decision. I do not see any malpractice issues.

Read more
Answered on 1/08/02, 9:16 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Medical Malpractice Law questions and answers in Indiana