Legal Question in Personal Injury in Indiana

Accusations in school setting affects teaching position

Applied for teaching position in local catholic school/parish in which I am a parishoner & father of current student. Was offered 6th grade teaching position & accepted. Contract signed by myself, principal. Class lists went up-another parent in school went to principal to object saying I had had ''inappropriate contact''with her daughter on playground-I was on duty, children could hear my cell phone ringing in my pocket & were clamoring to get the phone in pants pocket. Parent went to principal with concern of improper contact. Principal & I discussed-children should not be jumping on me or of course go near pockets. Got it. We both thought that was it. Nearly 4 years later (& many more volunteer hours later) I was hired as a teacher. Parent brought it up to principal & had other parents rally around her. They also went to PTO made false accusatins forcing the school to withdraw job offer. I have never been accused/tried or convicted of any crime let alone something so heinous. We are worried our daughter may hear something when school resumes. I am afraid my future teaching positions may end up with the same group of parents causing problems wherever I go. I feel my character has been severely damaged & livlihood at risk. Slander?

Asked on 7/19/07, 3:14 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

C. David DuMond Law Offices of David DuMond

Re: Accusations in school setting affects teaching position

The statements contained in your question, if proved in court, would establish all the elemnts of slander.

Read more
Answered on 7/20/07, 10:20 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Indiana