Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Indiana

On July 19th my landlords wife had our NIPSCO turned off and put in her name without our knowledge. After a very long phone convertation with NIPSCO, our gas and power was restored the next day in our name as it was. I was informed that what was done is called an illegal laockout. Is there anything I can do to my landlords wife? Also our landlords wife is taking us to court for eviction. Her husbands name is the only one that is on our lease not hers. Does she have the right?

Asked on 8/26/09, 12:24 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Burton Padove Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove

She does not have ther right to evict you based on the facts presented. You can sue your landlords wife for the illegal lockout. However, you need to prove damages.

Read more
Answered on 8/26/09, 1:23 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Indiana