Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Indiana

can we put our house into a living trust if we still have a mortgage to pay off? If so, is the mtg company (co) owner of the trust?

Asked on 8/10/23, 9:12 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

You don't have to pay off the mortgage before moving the house to a revocable trust. There's a federal law known as the Garn-St Jarmain Act which applies in this situation.

Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 8/10/23, 11:18 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Indiana