Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Kansas

I would like to sign a quit claim deed giving my soon to be ex wife full ownership of the house and property. Both of us are currently on the deed however, the loan for the mortgage is solely in her name. By signing a quitclaim deed, and giving up my ownership of the house would I be liable for any portion of the mortgage payment?

Asked on 12/19/15, 4:40 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Smith LawSmith

Under the facts you described, you would probably not be liable (Post Divorce) if she gets behind on her mortgage payments.

Read more
Answered on 1/02/16, 9:34 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Kansas