Legal Question in Disability Law in Kentucky

i have been off work since Aug 2010. I was hospitalized on that day for possible heart attack. From that point I continued to have issues. At the end of December there was an MRI done which shows a tumor on my pituitary gland. Aetna cut off my short term because they say there are no findings. The primary care and neurosurgeon have written letters stating what needs to be done to confirm this tumor. Aetna denied my claim then after writing an appeal letter to them they gave me a deadline of March 28 for them to make their decision. On the 28th of March they decided they needed more time so they extended their decision to May 11. In the mean time, I am still suffering from headaches and unable to seek treatment because with aetna not approving my short term i have no insurance. I could do cobra but with aetna not approving my short term i have not had a paycheck since Dec 26. The stress from my health issue and financial stress on my family is too much to handle at times. Is there anything i can do to aetna for all the pain they are casuing?

Asked on 3/31/11, 10:13 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrea Welker Welker Law Office

Yep, it's called bad faith. Get an attorney who does insurance law.

Read more
Answered on 4/04/11, 8:24 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Disability Discrimination Law (ADA) questions and answers in Kentucky