Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Kentucky

I have been living with a man for over 13 years. I recently found out he has incurred a lot of debt. We own a condo jointly with right of survivorship. Am I in any way legally responsible for his debts? My name is NOT on any of them.

Asked on 2/02/11, 10:19 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrea Welker Welker Law Office

No, you are not responsible for the debt, but that doesn't mean that if he defaults on that debt that the creditors won't seek to place a lien on your jointly owned property.

Read more
Answered on 2/17/11, 6:36 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Kentucky