Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Kentucky

Hello my name is steve. i am currently deployed in afghanistan and i have had debt for a few yrs and it will be paid off in about a month, but my wife has debt that she has had since before we were married and i am thinking about having her go bankrupt but i wasnt sure now that were married if that would effect my credit? And im wondering if it wont effect it how do i go about doing it. she is in debt from buying a car and and letting a friends drive and wreck it and the insurance wouldnt cover it. im pretty sure thats what she said. iv been here awhile cant remember but any information will help. thanks

Asked on 10/17/10, 11:46 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrea Welker Welker Law Office

A spouse's bankruptcy won't affect your credit, but it could affect any shared assets. You should address those issues with the bankruptcy attorney when filing.

Read more
Answered on 10/23/10, 12:29 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Kentucky