Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Kentucky

My wife unintentionally bounced a check to the peditrician. I am in the military and when I found out

I paid the face value of the check and $25 to county Attorney and $25 to the doctors office in a fee.

($50 dollars over the face value of the check). This was about the first of the year. Now we find out

a collection agency and the doctor assessed an addition fee to each one of my 3 kids medical

account for $25 each. I called the office the billing office said it is the doctors procedure to charge

$25 per patient above any other fee for a returned check. Also they cancelled my military discount

and are asking for more check fees and the discount back over $200. The state max in Kentucky is

$25 dollars for a returned check...this does not sound legal.

Asked on 9/01/10, 3:41 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrea Welker Welker Law Office

Nope, doesn't sound right to me, either. I would offer to pay what you believe is fair, and if they want more than that, let them file suit against you or tell them not to contact you again.

Read more
Answered on 9/10/10, 10:20 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Kentucky