Legal Question in Family Law in Louisiana

My mom is deceased and my father is remarrying. The home my parents shared was only under my father's name. Me and my siblings are over 18 so I wanted to know if my dads home is half hers once they are married or he passes away after they marry?

Asked on 1/06/20, 11:36 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrew Casanave Andrew M. Casanave

Unless he transfers some portion of ownership to his wife, it is 100% his separate property. Marriage does not change ownership of that property.

Read more
Answered on 1/07/20, 4:32 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Louisiana