Legal Question in Personal Injury in Louisiana

Prescription limits for state to federal to state remand

Dear Sir or Madam:

In 1997, I filed suit in Louisiana 21st JDC for wrongful termination, defamation, slander, etc., as a pro se litigant. I found counsel who amended my petition and included federal question, and the suit was immediately remanded to US Dist. Court, Middle District of LA. I terminated counsel, and hired other counsel. We dropped federal claims and had state claims remanded. It took over a year for the Clerk of Court's office of 21st JDC to receive paperwork on same, even though it had been done and supposedly sent much earlier. Since then, my counsel claims that he has been seeking a status conference with the judge to evaluate status of this suit. My question: Is there a certain point at which defense counsel can argue that this case is dead due to inaction on part of my counsel, or any other reason?? Thanks,

Asked on 11/23/02, 1:11 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Nick Pizzolatto, Jr. Pizzolatto Law Office

Re: Prescription limits for state to federal to state remand

Three years of inaction results in an action being dismissed.

Read more
Answered on 11/23/02, 9:00 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Louisiana