Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Maine

I have an old reposession which I have been trying to get paid off. The collector claims that if i don't pay they can garnish my wages, and have already filed so they don't need a judgement to do so. I already have about 35% of my gross paycheck withheld each week to pay for delinquent state and federal backtaxes; can they still garnish another 25%?

PS: if they do so, it will be the 3rd garnishment and I will probably lose my job.

Asked on 1/20/11, 9:28 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

scott logan Law Office of J. Scott Logan, LLC

Chapter 13 might be in your future. You could freeze the tax debt and repay it over time without interest or penalties. This collector can only garnish with a valid judgment

Read more
Answered on 3/24/11, 12:33 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Maine