Legal Question in Employment Law in Maine

restrictive covenant/non-compete

I am being offered a management job (I am currently an account executive) for a start-up company in same industry. Non-compete says I can't work for 9-mths/50 miles restriction, in industry that I have been working for last 15 yrs. They can not offer me the same room for advancement in the area I live, own multiple income properties and my husband works. Can they truely restrict my advancing in my chosen career? I signed this non0compete after I had given notice to a former employee and signed a letter of acceptance.

Asked on 5/28/08, 10:50 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Anderson Anderson Business Law LLC

Re: restrictive covenant/non-compete

I would need to review agreement to advise you. They may be enforced in limited circumstances.

Call or email for further assistance.

Read more
Answered on 5/29/08, 11:56 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Maine