Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Maryland

I am aware of how terrible and incredibly stupid what Ive done is.. I just want to know if I have any options at all.. I defaulted on one of my earliest student loans (I have many) but because they had old contact info.. I didnt find out about it until it was too late to anything about it.. Wells Fargo sold it to a debt collection lawyer who served my mother (who cosigned my loan) court papers at her job.. I was in between jobs at the time.. i finally got a job.. and was able to come up with a payment plan based on directions that lawyer gave me.. Because the monthly amount I could pay was lower he kept saying he was waiting on approval from Wells Fargo.. in the meantime.. due to weather and sickness I managed to miss my court date but he assured me our payment plan was in processing waiting on confirmation from the bank.. Mind you I still kept in communication with the lawyer who kept assuring that establishing a payment plan would take time.. I got a notice from the courts last week that they judged in his favor and I have 30 days to vacate judgement or he has the right to go for a lien.. Is it a wrap.. have I ruined everything for my family at this point? Ive tried other forums.. no lawyer will contact me..

Asked on 3/15/16, 8:26 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Daniel Press Chung & Press, P.C.

It may be possible to put you in a Chapter 13 bankruptcy that would impose a Co-debtor stay and allow you to pay over time.

Read more
Answered on 3/16/16, 3:34 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Maryland