Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Maryland

There was a promissory note signed in April 2009 by my sister as primary and me as cosigner. In April of 2014 I receive a summons for court. Plaintiff claims my sister never made one payment and I am no longer in contact with her and she will provide me no informatuion. In the complaint the plaintiff is asking for the original $5000 plus court costs and attorney fees. The plaintiff never tried to contact me in any way. Can you help me determine some items to add to my answer to the summons that would help me defend myself or do I have no defense? To my knowledge they have not filed against my sister. I live in Delaware, my sister lives in Maryland and the summons is for Harford County Circuit Court.

Asked on 4/15/14, 4:03 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Brett Weiss The Weiss Law Group

It is possible that there could be defenses, but you need to file an answer to raise them. I practice in this area. If I can help, please feel free to contact me.

Read more
Answered on 4/15/14, 7:44 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Maryland