Legal Question in DUI Law in Maryland

I went to court for a 2nd DWI and was found guilty. I was given a 60 day sentence. The Sentence was suspended and I was given 1 year of supervised probation. My question is about some of my probation conditions. I am already in out patient treatment at a state certified facility. My probation conditions state this: "Complete drug treatment at 'name of facility' or any other program including AA meetings." The judge told me that she expects me to be in a 12 step program with a sponsor. I've tried going to AA meetings and they're really just not relatable to me. I get much more out of the treatment meetings. So, the judge said that in court, but it doesn't look like it is an actual condition of my probation because of the "or". I have not had one drop of alcohol in months and have had no problem staying sober. My lawyer told me that I will not have to go back to court after my probation is over unless I violate it. Is this true? The judge said nothing about coming back. So the question is, do I have to go to AA meetings, enter the 12 step program, and get a sponsor to legally comply with my probation. Or is it just something that the judge thought would be beneficial to my sobriety. Thanks.

Asked on 7/02/14, 9:36 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

William Welch William L. Welch, III Attorney

You should ask the attorney who represented you.

Read more
Answered on 7/02/14, 12:06 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in Maryland