Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Michigan

My father's estate opened in 2023 and had less than a $1 of income that came from a $80K savings account. Probate says his estate has to stay open until May 4th and I'm required to file the necessary tax returns. In 2024 he might have almost $10 in income by the time everything is distributed. Do I NEED to file a zero 1041 for 2023 AND 2024 IF at all?

Asked on 3/20/24, 10:28 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Tatone John R. Tatone & Associates PLC

This is a great question for a tax professional. I would recommend contacting and using your father's prior tax preparer as they may have past information that may assist in the final tax forms.

Read more
Answered on 3/21/24, 5:58 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Michigan