Legal Question in Consumer Law in Minnesota

windows melting siding

The windows on one side of our newly built home are reflecting the sun at certain times of the year just at the right angle where it is melting the neighbor's vinyl siding. The builder has experienced this in another development, but always expects the people owning the home with the reflecting windows to then change out their windows with ones that are fully screened. We don't want this type of window (hard to see out), and we didn't pay for a home having these windows. Can the builder do anything to force us to change out our windows? Essentially, they don't want to pay to put cement-based siding on the neighbors's home (guaranteed not to melt), and we just don't think we should be brought into the problem at all. We have filed a complaint with the BBB after the builder had sent us a letter via their attorneys saying that they will not be replacing the siding next door, and are waiting for us to change out our windows to fix the problem. Is this legal? We don't have $ to hire an attorney for something so ridiculous.

Asked on 8/30/06, 11:18 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Anderson Anderson Business Law LLC

Re: windows melting siding

Have you approached you Home owners insurance carrier?

Has the neighbor contacted his HO carrier?

Have you priced out non-reflective coatings (3M has products)?

Read more
Answered on 8/30/06, 11:41 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Minnesota