Legal Question in Legal Ethics in Minnesota

If a an attorney is defeding a case againtst a pro se attorney and the attorney attends the same church as the judge, is in the same social club as the judge and holds the same office of a city attorney as well as a private attorney which was the same office as the judge once held, couldn't this be construed as lack of impartiality, judicial malfeasance, judicial favortism, misconduct and a whole host of other improprieties?

Asked on 12/17/11, 2:10 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Kane Law Offices of Robert D. Kane, Jr.

Probably not, judges are allowed to have friends too and most of them are probably attorneys. Unless there is some sort of financial gain, there is probably nothing wrong.

Read more
Answered on 12/18/11, 9:03 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility questions and answers in Minnesota