Legal Question in Personal Injury in Minnesota

Problem: Painful arthritis in my right hand. Thumb and the next two fingers.

For 25 years I worked as a Reliabiltiy Engineer specializing in Vibration analysis as a predictive maintenance function. This consist of using a vibration data analyzer/collector and a Stinger probe. The data collector is basically a small computer and the Probe is a hand held accelerometer that you hold on the data pick-up points on the machine to collect the vibration data that is used later for analysis. I had thousands of machines that I had established into routes, and I would collect data on all these machines on a fixed schedules and random. Monthly, QTRly, annual, etc etc. All data collected was used for trending the overall vibration for failure analysis to prevent unscheduled downtime. At this point, in my opinion, the arthritis in my hand was caused from 25 yrs. of machinery vibration data collection. There are studies out there on vibration and the human body and has been proved to be very damaging. The equipment I used for data collection was made by Emerson Process Management, used to be name Computational Systems Inc. Do you think it's possible to get any compensation out of them? My quality of life has taken a major downturn as I can hardly even wipe my ass, much less finding another job that requires only one good hand to do the work. I want to know if I may have a case or not. Thank you

Asked on 1/25/22, 10:43 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

J. Chris Carpenter Harvey and Carpenter

Yes, this is a very reasonable theory of the cause of your condition. You will likely need a doctor to assist you in linking the condition to work. You will also need an attorney to assist you.

Read more
Answered on 1/25/22, 1:21 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Minnesota