Legal Question in DUI Law in Mississippi

I was at an after party Saturday. The police came to shut the party down. While they were shutting it down and while me and my three friends were driving away someone started shooting. When we pulled into the raisin cane's parking lot around the corner, they made us get out and detained us. What made us look guilty was that we all own handguns. We were not the shooters. We also had opened bottles of alcohol. After a while they arrested me for DUI and driving with suspended license and they let my friends leave. They confiscated our weapons, did not give me any test to see if I was drunk until I got to the station where I declined a breathalyzer test. They also towed my vehicle even though my friends were fine to drive. They also did not read me my Miranda rights. My question is did the officers make any bad mistakes or was everything pretty routine?

Asked on 9/07/15, 6:22 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anders Ferrington Anders Ferrington PLLC

You need an attorney. DUI is a serious crime. Not being read your rights is not a get out of jail free card as many think. Please retain counsel

Read more
Answered on 9/08/15, 3:50 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in Mississippi