Legal Question in Disability Law in New Jersey

I work full time for a large company. Last year I was doing IVF. I documented this in order to get a minor medical accommodation, which the company provided. My first two attempts failed, and in the meantime I applied for jobs internally. For one, I was told by HR that they were looking for someone with a specific experience and I wouldn't get an interview unless they couldn't find that experience. Later I found out that a woman in my department with similar experience to mine got that position. I was able to see her resume and I didn't see the experience that HR told me they were looking for. The HR person is the same one who knew about my IVF. I believe I was taken out of the running for this job because I was doing IVF. I called the EEOC to ask and found out that IVF falls under disability discrimination. What should I do now? Speak to someone at my company about it or go directly to filing a complaint? I still work there so things would get ugly. Thanks

Asked on 1/09/11, 9:35 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Locksley Wade Law Office of Locksley O. Wade

I am an employment law attorney and my recommendation is that you file an internal complaint with your companies EEO director first and then pursue a claim with the EEOC -with an attorney.

Read more
Answered on 1/14/11, 10:00 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Disability Discrimination Law (ADA) questions and answers in New Jersey