Legal Question in Criminal Law in New Jersey

My wife got nabbed for fare evasion on the NJT river line. She's new to the country and wasn't feeling well and apparently panicked when she saw the doors of the train about to close (with the ticket machines broken quite frequently!) --I'm not making excuses. Anyway, question is: If she pays the ticket, what is left on her record. She claims the Fare Enforcement Officer said that everything is cleared. I suspect she misunderstood. Is she left with any potentially harmful mark on her record? (She has a green card on probation because she's in the first two years, and will be job hunting soon.) Is a lawyer necessary or should she just pay? I think she pretty much told the enforcement officer that she panicked and didn't pay.

Asked on 1/19/18, 6:09 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jef Henninger, Esq Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.

She should speak to an attorney before doing anything. Call us at 1-855-9-JEFLAW to discuss

Read more
Answered on 1/21/18, 8:35 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in New Jersey