Legal Question in Employment Law in New Jersey

Yesterday I was brought into the corner office at work at 2PM, after receiving an email on my work tablet from Director at 1:55PM. (I was due in office at 2PM for a scheduled Team Mtg: I am a hospice chaplain.) I was told by my Director, (my immediate supervisor unaware and kept out of loop) that I was being suspended with pay immediately, Wednesday at 2PM, and was being investigated for allegations, plural, made against me by a co worker. Director told me that she was not able to give me any further information at all. No HR representative was present. I am to return to the office tomorrow, Friday, at noon, and Director will inform me if I am fired or able to return to work.

I was blindsided by this event. I have been a chaplain for 25 years with outstanding appraisals every year from multiple employers. I have been with current hospice for 8 years. I have excellent review and have never been written up or verbally reprimanded for anything. DO I NEED AN ATTORNEY PRESENT TOMORROW AT NOON TO REPRESENT ME?

Asked on 2/09/17, 7:58 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jef Henninger, Esq Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.

I have an office in Toms River. Call me at 1-855-9-JEFLAW. I will be free from 7:30pm until anytime.

Read more
Answered on 2/09/17, 1:07 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in New Jersey