Legal Question in Business Law in New York


I am not from the USA, but from the Netherlands, Europe. I recently discovered that the government of the Netherlands appears in the SEC EDGAR listing on, in full capital letters (STATE OF THE NETHERLANDS). I have some questions about this.

1. Does this mean that the government of my country is in fact a commercial corporation, trading under U.S. law?

2. Could I hold my government accountable for the treatment of its citizens, using U.S. law? For example, would a U.S. corporation be allowed to claim government status in a foreign country, charge taxes to its 'citizens', and monopolise to itself the right to use force on them?

Do you have tips or suggestions on how to find answers to these questions? I'd greatly appreciate!

Asked on 2/05/19, 7:53 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Locksley Wade Law Office of Locksley O. Wade

Read about "sovereign wealth funds."

Read more
Answered on 2/14/19, 4:00 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in New York