Legal Question in Technology Law in New York

email privacy-corporate

I made a poor judgement in exchanging emails of a sexual nature with a female coworker. The emails were retrieved by our supervisor (after she accused him of sexual misconduct) and mutliple printed copies were made. I was led to believe that I would be fired, so I resigned. They said they had the right to look at any email. Is this legal?

Asked on 7/02/08, 12:59 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kristen Browde Browde Law, P.C.

Re: email privacy-corporate

Under most circumstances, yes, they do. The ownership of the system has been held to grant the company the authority to read any message on the system.

Read more
Answered on 7/02/08, 1:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Computer & Technology Law questions and answers in New York