Legal Question in Consumer Law in New York

Expiration Date on a Store Credit

I purchased a rug which proceeded to fall apart. The store acknowledged that it wasn't really a rug but a wall hanging. The defective ''rug'' was returned and they issued a $4,200 credit with a 6-month expiration which I didn't take note of. Now they will not honor the credit nor will they return the defective rug to me as they said it was surrendered to them. Is this legal? I have nothing to show for over $4,200 paid out to this company.

Asked on 2/05/08, 12:06 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Johm Smith tom's

Re: Expiration Date on a Store Credit

You may have a claim if they didn't properly notice you of the limited 6 month time period. A letter from a lawyer might get them to change their tune.

Read more
Answered on 2/05/08, 5:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in New York