Legal Question in Family Law in New York

My divorce lawyer ceased all communication with me. He never gave me information on court dates he just went on my behalf and told me AFTER the fact that he went but never disclosed any information as to what happened. The last time we were in contact was August 2023. I was served order to show cause paperwork yesterday because apparently there was an in person court date scheduled for 10/27/23 , which i was never informed of, and my lawyer nor I were present for. an order was issued for me to pay legal fees to opposing counsel by 1/3/24. I never knew anything about this until papers were served to me yesterday. Now being held in contempt of court, facing jail time and my lawyer STILL won't return calls, texts or emails.

Asked on 1/11/24, 7:27 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Hire another lawyer or represent yourself. Do not default.

Read more
Answered on 1/12/24, 12:57 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in New York