Legal Question in Family Law in New York

My girlfriend is near the end of her divorce. The custody agreement has been signed, the divorce has been signed. The divorce papers are not back from the court yet. I have been seeing her for approx. 10 months and have been very close to her kids. I was watching them one day and her 4 year old son got into trouble. I put him in time-out and he went and told her ex that I hit him which I did not. Now her ex is telling her that I cannot be around the kids. I have never been an aggressive person and never would hit a child, not even my own kids. My girlfriend has been threatened multiple times from her ex to have the kids taken away. She is a wonderful mother. I am just wondering what her rights are..... I am not a danger to her kids or any kids for that matter. Can her ex threaten to take the kids away from her?

Asked on 11/20/17, 10:02 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Bunji Fromartz Fromartz Law Offices

This open forum is not a way to discuss this matter you need to contact a family court lawyer.

Read more
Answered on 11/21/17, 11:54 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in New York